Share This Too gears up for launch

end-logo
stt_header

Share This Too gears up for launch

Hot off the press… I can now reveal that Share This Too, the follow-up book to the best-selling CIPR handbook, Share This will be published by Wiley this month and is available to pre-order now.

Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Wiley, 2013) features 35 contributors, several of whom are successful authors in their own right. The new book probes deeply into what is current in the theory, delivery and evaluation of 21st century public relations and digital communication.

I have written the chapter on Social in Corporate Communication. My chapter explores: The role of the 21st century corporate communicator, What communications professionals think of social media, Using social technologies, plus social models and resources.

Many of the contributors are my fellow members of the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) Social Media Panel. I was elected to the panel earlier this year and I represent all things internal communication-related on it. We wrote the book using Google docs, in the same way we did for Share This, working collaboratively and providing peer reviews for each other.

Share This booksOnce again it was a stimulating experience, I enjoyed working alongside my fellow contributors and helping to shape the contents of the book. They are a super smart bunch and I think IC pros will enjoy reading their thoughts; I certainly have.

Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals is split into seven parts: The Future of Public Relations, Audiences and Online Habits, Conversations, New Channels, New Connections, Professional Practice, Business Change and Opportunities for the Public Relations Industry and Future Proofing the PR industry.

Brian Solis @briansolis, Principal Analyst at Altimeter Group has written the foreword (Brian came to the UK a few weeks ago and I wrote about his talk I went to at the #b2bhuddle at Microsoft, London.), sharing his insights into all things social media related and his views on the book.

The full contents are:

Foreword – Brian Solis @briansolis
Introduction – Rob Brown and Stephen Waddington

Part I. The Future of Public Relations 
1 Digital PR is Dead: Social goes mainstream – Rob Brown @robbrown
2 The Shift to Conversation: Content, context and avoiding cheap talk – Dom Burch @domburch
3 Content Frameworks: Using content to achieve marketing communications goals – Robin Wilson

Part II. Audiences and Online Habits 

4 Planning: Audiences, media and networks – Ged Carroll @r_c
5 Digital Anthropology – Kate Matlock @katematlock
6 Understanding Social Capital – Adam Parker @adparker
7 The Unsocial Web – Dr Mark Pack @markpack

Part III. Conversations 
8 Gamification: Engaging audiences through play – Sharon O’Dea @sharonodea
9 Community Management – Paul Fabretti @paulfabretti
10 Curation – Michael Litman @mlitman
11 Live Social Events – Russell Goldsmith

Part IV. New Channels, New Connections 
12 Mobile Media – Stephen Davies @stedavies
13 To App or not to App – Scott Seaborn @scottseaborn
14 The Visual Web – Dan Tyte @dantyte
15 Finding Your Way Around – from Foursquare to Google Glass – Matt Appleby @mattappleby
16 Connected Employees – Kevin Ruck @academyKev

Part V. Professional Practice
17 Social Media and the Law – Hanna Basha
18 Online Crisis Management – Chris Norton @chris_norton
19 Wikipedia and Reputation Management – Stephen Waddington @wadds
20 The Rise and Rise of Digital Pharma – Becky McMichael @Bmcmichael
21 Social in Corporate Communications – Rachel Miller @AllthingsIC
22 Putting the Social into Corporate Social Responsibility – Stuart Bruce @stuartbruce
23 Building a Personal Brand Online – Richard Bailey @behindthespin
24 The Social CEO – Jane Wilson
25 Working across Borders and Boundaries – Juilo Romo @twofourseven

Part VI. Business Change and Opportunities for the Public Relations Industry
26 Laying the Foundations for a Social Business – Jed Hallam @jedhallam
27 Social Commerce: Show me the money – Katy Howell @katyhowell
28 How to Change Organisational Mindset – Gemma Griffiths @gemgriff
29 The Six Influence Flows – Philip Sheldrake @sheldrake

Part VII. Future Proofing the Public Relations Industry 
30 Metrics that Matter – Richard Bagnall @richardbagnall
31 Quantified Self – Drew Benvie @drewb
32 Network Topology – Andrew Bruce Smith @andismit
33 The Public Relations Power of “Big Data” – Simon Collister @simoncollister

Lots of great content there! I’ve included all of the Twitter handles so you can track down the contributors if you want to know more about them. You can find the book on Twitter @sharethistoo. (Tip: check out the hashtag #CIPRSM on Twitter too as many of us mark Tweets with it to share info with each other and the CIPR social media panel community).

Save 20 per cent off the recommended retail price

If you are interested in knowing more about Share This Too, it is available to pre-order now from Wiley’s website and if you do so there, I have a code to save you 20 per cent off. Result! The code you need is: VBE14 and you need to put it in the checkout page of the Wiley website.

I can offer you a sneaky peek inside the book now – Chapter Four, ‘Planning Audiences, Media and Networks’ by Ged Carroll is available to download for free

Update: Read Richard Cooper’s review of Share This Too.

Share This

ShareThisRachelMiller Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals

(Wiley, 2012) has sold over 2000 copies and includes practical guidance on how professional communicators can use social media networks and platforms to engage directly in conversations with audiences.

I wrote the chapter on employee engagement: how social media are changing internal communication. If you want to know more about Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals, see:

Want to know what you can expect to read in Share This? check out this sample chapter by Katy Howell and you can see a video from the launch at Google campus in London.

I’m regularly asked to recommend books that I think IC pros would enjoy reading. You can see the ones I’ve contributed to via my books page and there are book lists on Amazon of publications that I recommend. See my Rachel’s Resources page for more info.

What are you reading?

Currently on my (ever-growing!) book list that I’m reading through at the moment are Drive by Daniel Pink, Culture Shock by Will McInnes (which was a kind personalised gift from Will in recognition of my work on the big yak unconference for IC pros last month), plus a brand new book arrived today, The Culture Builders by Jane Sparrow (disclosure: this was sent to me for free by Gower Publishing for the purpose of reviewing it).

What books are you currently reading? Do let me know what’s on your list at the moment. You can comment below or Tweet me @AllthingsIC.

Post author: Rachel Miller

RELATED POSTS

Six things I heard at PR Week’s Strategic IC conference-image

Six things I heard at PR Week’s Strategic IC conference

There are some seriously smart things happening in internal communication right now. On Tuesday I had the privilege of attending PR Week’s Strategic Internal Communications c...

Read moreRead more
Segways and selfies… an alternative Christmas tale-image

Segways and selfies… an alternative Christmas tale

Joseph, resplendent with a man bun, snaps a selfie to capture latte-holding Mary pulling a duck-face in front of the manger. The wise men arrive on segways holding Amazon Prime par...

Read moreRead more
How to learn about employer brand management-image

How to learn about employer brand management

Investing in a good employer brand means investing in a good reputation. But in times of change a company’s reputation and, in turn, its employer brand faces pressures and st...

Read moreRead more

Leave a comment


Post commentPost comment






*

Learn about internal comms

Who’s hired All Things IC
Get updates by email
Download the All Things IC app
Shares